UEFA Euro seeding
France 2016

This page shows informations (including seeding) about UEFA Euro 2016 final tournament in France (from 10. 6. 2016 to 10. 7. 2016). For the first time, EURO final tournament will be contested by 24 teams. For informations about qualification for UEFA Euro 2016, click here.


Final tournament will play 24 teams, which were drawn into 6 groups (with 4 teams in each group). Pot allocation was based on UEFA National Ranking 2015. Top two teams from each group and best 4 teams on third places will qualify for round of 16.

Result of draw

Each team plays each of the other teams in the same group once, according to a league system (3 points for a win, 1 for a draw and 0 for a defeat). Top 2 teams from each group and best 4 third-ranked teams qualify for knockout stage. If there is no winner at the end of the normal time in knockout stage, two 15-minute periods of extra time are played. If there is still no winner after extra time, kicks from the penalty mark are required

Tiebreakers: If 2 or more teams are equal on points, 1st tie-breaking criteria are matches between teams in question (1.obtained points; 2.goal difference; 3.higher number of goals scored). 4. if teams still have an equal ranking, criteria 1 to 3 are reapplied exclusively to the matches between teams in question to determine their final rankings. If teams still have an equal ranking, another tie-breaking criteria are all matches in group (5.goal difference; 6.higher number of goals scored). 7. if only two teams have the same number of points, and they're tied according to criteria 1–6 after having met in the last round of the group stage, their ranking is determined by penalty shoot-out. 7. fair play (yellow card: 1 point, red card: 3 points); 8. National Ranking UEFA 2015).

Best third-ranked teams are determined according to the following criteria: 1. obtained points; 2. goal difference; 3. higher number of goals scored; 4. fair play; 5. National Ranking UEFA 2015. Options for round of 16 pairings, depending on which third-placed teams qualify from groups:


All times are in CET.


All informations (dates, seedings, formats etc.) are based on official regulations published by UEFA. Map was taken by Google Earth (GeoBasis-DE/BKG) and pictures taken by psgmag; Mathieu ArcFantafluflu; Vegas666; Guillaume Baviere; loic4467; Bernard Perin; Mirasol; R-0-m-a-ii-n, Christian Rudelle and Relax40 under the Creative Commons License.