will defunct in ...

More info at the homepage of this website.

FIFA World Cup seeding - qualification
Russia 2018

Qualification - Europe (UEFA)


European qualification of FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 played 54 teams from total 55 UEFA members (Russia did not play qualification as a host of final tournament). Seeding was based on the July 2015 edition of World Ranking FIFA, which was published on 9th of July 2015. Teams were seeded into six pots by 9 teams (last 6th pot contained 7 teams). Gibraltar and Kosovo were not part of draw (more info below).

Result of draw

The draw of qualification took place on 25th of July 2015. The nine group winners qualify directly, and the eight best runners-up go into the play-offs to determine the remaining four qualified sides. Matches in the European Qualifiers were played between September 2016 and November 2017. Gibraltar and Kosovo weren't members of FIFA in the time of draw. On 9th of June 2016 Gibraltar was assigned to Group H and Kosovo to Group I (UEFA has decided that Kosovo shouldn't play against Bosnia and Herzegovina for security reasons).

All teams played 10 matches (twice against each other - home and away). In case of equal points, the criteria were following: 1) goal difference 2) goals scored 3) points from matches between teams in question 4) goal difference in matches between teams in question 5) goals scored in matches between teams in question 6) away goals scored in matches between teams in question 7) play-off match on neutral field.


The Play-offs play best 8 teams on second places (first legs on 9-11 November and second legs on 12-14 November 2017). Seeding was based on the Octo ber 2017 version of World Ranking FIFA. Four winners will qualify for FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 final tournament. Result of the draw (seeded teams in green):
Switzerland vs Northern Ireland, Denmark vs Republic of Ireland, Italy vs Sweden, Croatia vs Greece.