FIFA World Cup seeding
Russia 2018

Qatar 2022  >><< Brazil 2014

This page shows all important information (including seeding) about FIFA World Cup 2018 in Russia. All information are based on the official regulations and articles published by FIFA. For info about  European qualification, click here.

Final tournament


Final tournament will play 32 teams (Russia as a host + 31 qualified teams). As usual, they were drawn into eight groups by 4 teams. Top 2 teams from each group will qualify for knockout stage. Seeding was based on the October version of World Ranking FIFA. Top 7 teams + host were seeded in Pot 1, another best 8 teams were in Pot 2 etc. No team from same confederation could be drawn into the same group (except UEFA, which could have up to 2 teams in one group).


Result of draw

All teams will play 3 matches in group stage (once against each other). In case of equal points, the criteria are following: 1) goal difference 2) goals scored 3) points from matches between teams in question 4) goal difference in matches between teams in question 5) goals scored in matches between teams in question 6) fair play points (yellow card 1 point, second yellow card 3 points, direct red card 4 points) 7) draw..


All times are in CET.


References: FIFA World Cup 2018 format ; FIFA World Cup 2018 schedule Credits: Google Earth (GeoBasis-DE/BKG); Dmitriy Sadovnikov; Andrew Shiva; Kazaneer; Alexey Filippov; Counterfeiter; Cossrad; Dmitry Rozkov; Lobachev27;; Press Service of the Administration of the Volgograd Region; Complex of urban planning policy and construction of the city of Moscow under Creative Commons License.